Who's Who

Welcome to St. George’s Cathedral

SGC Trust

The St. George’s Cathedral Trust is a charitable Trust who with the great care and dedication maintains the beautiful cathedral campus, the historic and majestic St. George’s Cathedral building which is considered to be one of the best maintained Cathedrals in India.

The Trust constitutes of four Trustees, lead by the Secretary Mrs. Lenora James and the Treasurer Mr. John Mathew and they are ably supported by Mr. P. Koilpitchai and Mrs. Stella Alfred.

The Trust also maintains the Cathedral cemetery which is a final resting place for the members of the Church. The one another major landmark in the cathedral premises is the beautifully restored Gateway Chapel.

The Trust runs a Balwadi – a primary school for children who are from the poor and marginalized background at Royapettah, Chennai and the Trust provides excellent care for all the children.

The Trust also runs a Senior Citizen’s Home at Royapettah called “Nimmadhi Illam” which is a great place of rest and peace for the elderly people. The Home runs very efficiently by the Trust and nurtured by the Church.

The Trust also provides support to the members of the Church whoever is in need of aid and the other village Churches when they are in need of support.


Cathedral Organisation

The Most Rev. Thomas K. Oommen

Moderator of Church of South India

Rt. Rev. Dr. J. George Stephen

Bishop in Madras

Rev. S. Immanuel Devakadatcham

Cathedral Presbyter in-charge

Cathedral Pastorate Committee members for the triennium 2017-2020

  •    Mr. Joseph Reginald Issac (Secretary)
  •    Mr. I.S. Kumar Mathuram (Tresurer)
  •    Mrs. Christina Aristotle (Asst. Secretary)
  •    Mr. Bruce McKenzie
  •    Mr. S. B. K. Jacob
  •    Mrs. Jebaline Lydda Harrison
  •    Mr. Prabakar Asirvatham
  •    Mrs. Praveena Pradeep
  •   Mr. D. C. Sunderaj
  •    Mrs. Usha Rajendran

Lay Eucharistic Assistants

  •    Mr. Dhanraj Stephens
  •    Dr. Mrs. Mary Thomas
  •    Mrs. Percis Christopher
  •    Mrs. Saritha Sunderraj
  •    Mr. Jerrome Sudakar
  •    Mr. Paul Jeyakar
  •    Dr. Mrs. Rennet Samson
  •    Mr. Shelly Aristotle

Cathedral Choir organist and Choir master – Mr. A. Leslie Daniel

Cathedral Men’s Chorus: Hon. Music Director – Mr. Benny Samuel

Hon. Superintendent, Sunday school –  Mrs.Femila Andrew

Cathedral Manager – Mr. Jawahar

Cathedral Sexton – Mr. Samuel Aaron